You are here

Crisis Intervention Team Information

Crisis Intervention Team Information

If you have an out-of-control child and there’s a chance that the child may hurt themselves or someone else, you need to call the police and request Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) officer. CIT Officers have been trained in handling mental health calls. Even if your child has not been diagnosed with a mental health issue, adopted children, especially those with trauma or abuse in their backgrounds, will respond better if approached in the right manner.
CIT officers have responded when requested by families struggling with a child choosing unsafe behaviors such as setting fires, stealing, and behaviors that could potential be a threat to family members. If you ever find you need to call for a CIT officer, be sure to thank them for the extra training it takes to become a CIT officer.

AREA CIT COORDINATORS:

Arapahoe County/Centennial: Lt. Kevin Heaton
Aurora: Officer Jim Gleason, jgleason@auroragov.org
Castle Rock: Officer George Elder, gelder@crgov.com
Cherry Hills Village: Officer Will Sparks, wsparks@cherryhillsvillage.com
Denver: Sgt. Betty Hale, betty.hale@denvergov.org
Douglas County: Lt. Attila Denes, adenes@dcsheriff.net
Englewood: Officer Leticia Castillo, lcastillo@englewoodgov.org
Glendale: Officer Rich Benavidez, rbenavdez@glendale.co.us
Greenwood Village: Officer Elizabeth Micale, emicale@greenwoodvillage.com
Jefferson County: Sgt. Mike Daly, mdaly@jeffco.us, or Sgt. Cory Denes, cdenes@jeffco.us
Littleton: Sgt. Cindy Mitchell, cmitchell@littletongov.org
Lone Tree: Officer Shannon Jones, shannon.jones@cityoflonetree.com
Parker: Officer Chris Kozuch, ckozuch@parkeronline.org
Sheridan: Officer Kryss Bryant, kbryant@sheridangov.org

CIT agency statewide coordinators on the CITAC website: http://www.citac.us/